All Nebraskans have an important role to play in stopping the spread of COVID-19 and saving lives. To ensure the welfare of the public and our employees, we are no longer accepting firearm purchase certificate applications in-person at our public counter. Click for detailed instructions and to download an online permit application.
An applicant for a gun permit applying in Washington County must be a resident of the county and have a valid Nebraska photo ID or driver’s license. Persons who are a holder of a valid permit under the Concealed Handgun Permit Act are not required to have a gun permit.
The applicant must be at least 21 years of age and have no felony convictions, a criminal history check will be conducted when the application is made. Providing fraudulent information on an application for a permit is a felony offense.
Applications for gun permits may be made at the Sheriff’s Office Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM, excluding legal holidays.
Permits are $5.00 and are good for 3 years.
Visit the Nebraska State Patrol website for detailed information about firearms permits.
If you have questions, or if we can be of service, contact us